Interstate licensure

Not sure you have read about interstate medical licensure. The Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) now has seven states which have agreed to allow their physicians to become licensed in multiple states. The states are: Alabama, Minnesota, Idaho, Montana, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

A new agency called the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission will consist of physicians, administrators, and members of the public who have been appointed to medical boards in each of the participating states.

Physicians who wish to practice in more than one state will then be licensed in additional states without having to fill out a new application or gather up an entire set of records to each state medical board. An applicant’s "principal state" will be able to attest to their qualifications, and other states can license them. Each state will require licensure fees though. This will make it easier for physicians practicing at state lines or in locum jobs and telemedicine efforts.